Jim Chapryk

What is something you enjoy about the St. John’s/Scotia Heights/Luxton/North End/Point Douglas neighbourhood?

Although I have lived much of my adult life outside of Manitoba, I was born into a house on Redwood (2 doors from the Winnipeg Beach tracks) and then lived on College and went to Lord Nelson school. So living in the North End makes me feel at home. There have been many opportunities to be involved in community projects in Pt. Douglas and Luxton neighbourhoods and I am glad to have had the chance to meet great people in the process.

Why are you a member of Bannerman Green?

One of my passions in life has been to promote the cause of environmental stewardship. That combined with my interest and involvement in two cooperative developments in Winnipeg (one being a co-housing initiative) made this project a natural for my time and effort.

If you plan/want to live at Bannerman Green, what are you most looking forward to?

Living at Bannerman Green will allow me to live lightly on the earth and in community with like-minded individuals.

What is your favourite band or musician?

The Winnipeg Symphony.

Have you started any new hobbies during COVID19?


What is your favourite season?

I love spring – even though Winnipeg does not get much of a spring. Mostly the smell of lilacs in the air – and there are a lot of lilacs in the Bannerman Green area.

What is a TV show that you loved to watch as a kid or teenager?

Candid Camera, Get Smart, The Dick Van Dyke Show, Monty Python’s Flying Circus.

Would you rather wear only one colour each day, or have to wear 7 colours each day?

I’m a pretty dull dresser and generally don’t wear a lot of colours

Would you rather host a large gathering, or attend a large gathering at someone else’s house?

Definitely host. I love to cook and to feed people.

Is there anything else you want to share about yourself/selves to the other members of Bannerman Green? Work? Family? Pets?

I’m retired, having lived a peripatetic life doing many different jobs in many places, I’m delighted to be living in Winnipeg with it’s collection of wonderful, friendly individuals. I have no kids, one sister and husband who live near Lunenburg. Love all types of animals – have had cats and dogs.