Helena Lehn

What is something you enjoy about the St. John’s/Scotia Heights/Luxton/North End/Point Douglas neighbourhood?

Winnipeg,the worlds largest village has these interesting enclaves often between a river and a main thorough fare,one of which is our home area. It really does have the feel of a Small community,with Pollock Hardware Co-op, Modern Coffee, bakeries, meat shops and most of all the wonderful warm and hospitable folks of the neighbourhood.

Why are you a member of Bannerman Green?

The concept and location was quite appealing to me.

If you plan/want to live at Bannerman Green, what are you most looking forward to?

Being a part of creating community, knowing each of us is a cog in the wheel.

What is your favourite band or musician?

I have a pretty eclectic appreciation Various music types. I quite enjoyed seeing Mavis Staples, Al Green, Tony Bennett, bluegrass group Monroe Doctrine and Ruthie Foster. Instrumental and classical music can be quite endearing and the violin can often strike me as hauntingly beautiful.

Have you started any new hobbies during COVID19?

I did a fair bit more reading, volunteering with Gwen Sector and started cross country skiing, after a 25 year layoff.

What is your favourite season?

The autumnal equinox ushers in my favourite time of the year. Having lived in places where sugar maples created such a beautiful setting, along with the crisp evenings and sunny days made for memorable times.

What is a TV show that you loved to watch as a kid or teenager?

The twilight zone and Dragnet were great.

Would you rather wear only one colour each day, or have to wear 7 colours each day?

Whatever fits best.

Would you rather host a large gathering, or attend a large gathering at someone else’s house?

I enjoy both hosting and attending social events of the household variety and if I would have to choose I would say it is a game-time decision!

Is there anything else you want to share about yourself/selves to the other members of Bannerman Green? Work? Family? Pets?

I grew up in Ohio and lived in Pennsylvania and Ontario before moving to Winnipeg. I have worked in social services, coaching basketball and real estate. It is important to me to nurture  the whole person and am open to fresh ways to do that.