Connie and Mark Koenker

What is something you enjoy about the St. John’s/Scotia Heights/Luxton/North End/Point Douglas neighbourhood?

We live in a character home and love the character of the whole neighbourhood with older homes, beautiful yards, towering elms; and most of all, the people who hold such socially progressive values.

Why are you a member of Bannerman Green?

We had been planning a down-size move (God only knows where) when we were surprised last October to find a BG flyer in our mail box offering everything we could want half a block down our alley!

If you plan/want to live at Bannerman Green, what are you most looking forward to?

When we met each other in Winnipeg 50 years ago we initiated an informal co-op housing arrangement in a big old house at River and Osborne.  Moving into BG would take us full circle back to co-op living again.

What is your favourite band or musician?

Connie likes folk and blues music.  Mark is more eclectic and enjoys everything from classical to world, indie and beyond.

Have you started any new hobbies during COVID19?

Last fall we began “beer & homemade pizza Fridays” to give structure to our week.  Subsequently, this has morphed into Fridays taking us into homemade “international nights”.  We’ve also initiated walking expeditions into drive-by neighbourhoods previously unknown to us.

What is your favourite season?

Connie loves the new beginnings of spring warm and green; while Mark enjoys autumn mellow fruitfulness.

What is a TV show that you loved to watch as a kid or teenager?

Cowboy shows and Hockey Night were  favourites for Connie (maybe because her brothers controlled access to the TV).  Mark remembers watching The 3 Stooges and Chicago Cubs baseball as a kid in Valparaiso, Indiana.

Would you rather wear only one colour each day, or have to wear 7 colours each day?

One colour suits Connie since she likes to simplify life.  Mark has never paid attention to the colour of clothes but he still remembers the weird feeling wearing bell bottoms for the first time.

Would you rather host a large gathering, or attend a large gathering at someone else’s house?

Keeping things simple, Connie would rather attend a large gathering whereas Mark would be up for hosting.

Is there anything else you want to share about yourself/selves to the other members of Bannerman Green? Work? Family? Pets?

Connie’s family are Winnipeggers. We met when Mark spent an internship year in Winnipeg.  After we married we moved to SK (Humboldt for 5 years and then to Saskatoon for 25) before returning to be closer to her family.  In SK Connie used her Social Work and Ed Psych degrees doing counseling and working in schools while Mark had postings as a Lutheran pastor and MLA.  Our daughter Kristin in Edmonton and our son Jeremy in Vancouver are our priority visits after Covid lifts.

Connie enjoys flower gardening and is always looking for another good book to sit down with. Swedish blood in Mark has always driven him to tinker with old Volvos.  Now we continue to roll around in a 1990 Volvo 240.  (Anyone know someone who’d like to restore a robin egg blue ’72 Volvo 120 in our garage that needs a new home because of BG?  Can’t go to the crusher — so It’s free!)